16.—Lieutenant-Governors of Nova Scotia, 1867-1950, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-50, and Present Ministry as at June 1, 1950—concluded

Fourteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 9, 1949: 27 Liberals, 8 Progressive Conservatives and 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of Council and Provincial Treasurer.	Hon, Angus L, Macdonald	Sept. 8, 1945	Premier—Sept. 8, 1945 Provincial Treasurer— June 10, 1947
Attorney General and Provincial Secretary.	Hon, MALCOLM A. PATTERSON	June 10, 1947	Provincial Secretary— June 10, 1947 Attorney General— Nov. 22, 1949
Minister of Highways and Public Works.	Hon. M. D. RAWDING	July 31, 1947	July 31, 1947
Minister of Agriculture and Marketing and Minister of Lands and Forests.	Hon. A. W. MACKENZIE	Sept. 8, 1945	Agriculture and Market- ing—Sept. 8, 1945 Lands and Forests— Oct. 3, 1947
Minister of Trade and In-	Hon, HAROLD CONNOLLY	Sept. 8, 1945	Sept. 8, 1945
dustry. Minister of Mines, Minister of Labour, Minister of Public Health, Acting Minister of Public Welfare.	Hon. A. H. McKinnon	Sept. 29, 1949	Health— Sept. 29, 1949 Mines— Dec. 30, 1949 Labour— Dec. 30, 1949 Welfare— Feb. 9, 1950
Minister of Education	Hon, HENRY D. HICKS	Sept. 29, 1949	Sept. 29, 1949
Minister of Municipal Affairs	Hon. RONALD M. FIELDING	Dec. 7, 1949	Dec. 7, 1949
Minister without portfolio (in charge of administration of Nova Scotia Liquor Control Act).	Hon. Geoffrey Stevens	Apr. 4, 1946	Apr. 4, 1946

Subsection 4.—New Brunswick

The Province of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant Governor, Executive Council and House of Assembly. The Executive Council is composed of: the Premier and Attorney General; the Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and President of the Executive Council; the Minister of Public Works; the Minister of Lands and Mines; the Minister of Agriculture; the Minister of Health and Social Services; the Minister of Labour; the Minister of Education and Municipal Affairs; the Minister of Industry and Development; and a Minister without portfolio who is the Chairman of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission. The Legislative Assembly has 52 members who are elected for a term of five years.

The Premier receives a salary of \$5,000 which is in addition to any other portfolio he may hold. The salary of each Cabinet Minister is \$5,000, the amount paid as indemnity to each Member is \$1,500 and the Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$2,000. An allowance of \$1,000, in addition to the regular indemnity, is made to the Speaker.